Need some Help?

Visit the Truth About Books Blog

Follow the Truth About Books on Twitter
Username:

Password:

recover lost passwordregister now

0 books reviewed in last 30 days
0 active reviews, 501 archived reviews
Wordsurthworm with the Truth About Books
The Truth About Books

Search


 Author    Title  



Advertise Here - Click here for more info

Sphinx
by T.S Learner

Release Date: Jan 2010
Publisher: Little Brown
ISBN: 978 0 7515 4347 6
RRP: £6.99

Average Customer Rating: 
(3.0 based on 2 ratings)

Myth, mysticism and mayhem in 1970's Egypt...

Egypt, in the 1970ís and the country is in the throes of trying to find political stability under President Sadat. Not everyone is keen to see peace across the region; there are those whose political and personal ambitions would sooner see war and civil uprising Ė and the discovery of a long-lost artefact with legendary magical powers to influence events and even predict a personís death date would be an extremely desirable object to have in oneís possession.

Isabella Warnock is an Egyptologist and Archaeologist obsessed with the recovery of a mythical ĎAstrariumí; a device that is said to have been created by Ramses III, subsequently misappropriated by Moses and used to part the Red Sea and perpetually lost and found in the intervening centuries. Her obsession leads to an illegal dive in the bay off the coast of Alexandria; a decision her husband, Oliver, takes extreme objection to and ultimately changes the course of their lives forever. For Isabella, it is a swift death; for Oliver, it is a long battle to overcome his innate scepticism and scientistís wariness of anything remotely mystical in nature. It is an internal battle he must wage whilst avoiding the clutches of unseen, yet powerful individuals who seek the Astrarium for their own twisted purposes.

Sphinx has all the hallmarks of a gripping action/adventure story and T.S Learner clearly aspires to be considered a contemporary of Dan Brown; however, the narrative is like desiccated coconut: a bit flaky and lacking substance. Oliverís character, whilst believable because of his ineptitude at dealing with life-threatening situations, is concurrently irritating because of it. His preoccupation with reliving his sexual intimacy with his late wife is tedious, as is his liability to incorrectly asses otherís characters. The plot trickles along until several hundred pages in and then suddenly wakes up Ė albeit in a highly implausible way. A slow-burner, only those will the most strident of constitutions will make it to the end of what is essentially a passable story.


Your Reviews:

Click here to login or register and leave your very own review of Sphinx

11 February 2011: john wrote:
my impression of this book is that it could have been much better . And the story itself would be a blockbuster given more depth to the contents and structure . maybe in the indian jones type vein. but nevertheless i did enjoy and would recommend this book to people as it is still essentially a good read
15 January 2011: Anonymous wrote:
I did not mind the book, albeit did take some time to really get into gear (so to speak)
The ending was a bit far fetched, however overall I found it quite enjoyable
Definitely in the vein of Dan Brown and I liked the ancient Egyption themes
Well worth a read.




Follow us on
Follow The Truth About Books on Twitter

© Copyright 2007-2017. You may not copy, reproduce or otherwise distribute any content on this site without prior consent. To obtain consent - email here

The Truth About Books Limited. Registered England & Wales. Registration No: 6418483. Privacy Policy. Terms & Conditions

Send Review Copies to : The Editor, The Truth About Books Ltd, PO Box 4732, Sheffield, S17 9BZ